southernspeaks

Southern girl speaking her mind

How old/young do I look really??

on July 9, 2012

I’m settling in to my new home here in San Antonio, TX. Recently as I was vigorously unpacking boxes (as my in-laws are coming into town in a couple weeks), the doorbell rang. My husband and I looked right over to each other and made eye contact with the thoughts “who could be at the door?” We already met our neighbors (whom are truly nice by the way), we don’t have any friends yet, and we haven’t done anything wrong (that we know of). I skeptically answer, “hello” with a questioned-tone to my voice.

At my door in a young gentleman, roughly 20-24 yr old range, and he responds “Good evening, my name is **** and I am your newspaper carrier.  Is your mother or father home?” I respond SHOCKED saying “ummm no, they live roughly 2000 miles away where I just moved from, is there something I can help you with?” As he continues on his memorized speech about how we can reduce our costs for subscribing to the newspaper on a daily basis, etc, etc, I’m thinking in my head “is this real? is this really happening right now? I know I look fairly young for my age, but come on I’m co-owner of this home!” I tune into his monologue by saying, “I’m sorry, but we are not interested” then acts surprised that I’m not buying into his newspaper selling motive! He asks “Are you the lady of the household? Or should I just come back another time to speak with one of your parents?” I am absolutely stunned that this is happening. I respond “Yes, I am the lady of the household and I live here with my husband. My parents live across the country and I have been married for almost five years. I know I look young for my age, but really…I look older than you.” I admit that this was not my finer moment (especially since normally I carry a southern charm), and in the midst of my ears steaming, I look over to my husband who happens to be snickering. Newspaper gentleman apologizes greatly and I genuinely feel bad for the guy, I mean, he’s just trying to sell newspapers! But on the other hand, how many times do I have to tell him that I am a responsible adult who was fully capable of purchasing a home with her spouse.

He leaves the front porch with his tail between his legs. I come inside the house, sweating profusely from unpacking, unpacking, and more unpacking/chores (not to mention it’s like 120 degrees here!) and my husband asks “hey honey, maybe you just should have shown him your drivers license?” I proceed to smile ear to ear and proclaim that we are having takeout for dinner. 🙂

Then he reminds me of how we went and saw “the hangover” in the movie theater when it came out and how funny it was that I was carded. He mutters under his breath “people must think I bought you off the internet”.

Oh, It’s a good thing I love him 🙂

and it’s a great thing that I love our new home and neighborhood.

Stay tuned for more Texan adventures and goodnight from the southern heart!

Leave a Reply

